The 14th to 18th century Russia was characterized by rapid development of urban centers. It imported and developed its own architectural styles to bring out to fore the Great Russian spirit. Many of the buildings built in the ensemble of Trinity-Sergius Lavra in sergiev Posad became prototypes for later developments.
The 14th to 18th century Russia was characterized by rapid development of urban centers. It imported and developed its own architectural styles to bring out to fore the Great Russian spirit. Many of the buildings built in the ensemble of Trinity-Sergius Lavra in sergiev Posad became prototypes for later developments. The ensemble comprises of a Monastery, the Trinity Cathedral, the Palace of Metropolitan, the church of the Holy Spirit, the Church of the Virgin of Smolensk and the Fortress.
This was founded in the 1330s and was strategically located along an important road. The monastery became a defensive system around Moscow after the construction of fortification between 1540 and 1560. Most of the wooden structures and buildings in the monastery were destroyed by a fire in 1746. The 18th century secularization led to expropriation of the church land such that the land surrounding the monastery became the town of Sergiev Posad in 1782. The Moscow-Sergiev Posad highway was built in 1845 and a railway in 1868. The increased flow of visitors necessitated the transfer of Moscow Ecclesiastical Academy and Seminary to the site in 1814. Religious activities ceased in 1917 after the Revolution and the artistic and historical treasures thereof were nationalized.
The Trinity Cathedral
This is a 4 pillared single domed church with 3 apses. On its interior, you will find frescoes decorations engraved by Chernyi and Rublev. Its gilded dome was ordered there by Ivan the Terrible in celebration of seizure of Kazan. Other important monuments surrounding the temple include the Tent of Serapion and the Nikon Annex that was built in 1559 to house the burials of 3 of the church dignitaries.
The Palace of the Metropolitan
This was built on the southern end of the monastery. It has the appearance of a small Baroque palace. It features facades painted in blue, red and green squares and ornate capitals.
The Church of the Holy Spirit (Dukhovskaya)
This church is located in the heart of a monastery and is the oldest of the monuments within the complex. It is a 4-pillared church that features 3 apses and a single dome that is built with limestone
The Church of the Virgin of Smolensk
This is a beautiful church that features three limestone balustrades and two staircases on either side of the main door; decorative double pilasters support four curvilinear pediments.
This comprises of stone walls and corner towers that make up 3 levels of defenses namely: the isolated casemates, a vaulted gallery, and an open machicolated gallery.
These can be said to be the attractions near the complex but not quite within it. They include; the Piatnitskaya Church and the Vvedenskaya Church (1547), the Chapel over the Piatnitskii Well (late 17th century), and the Krasnogorskaya Chapel (1770).